After School


 After School;

After School (애프터스쿨) is a nine member South Korean female musical group formed in 2009. They are managed by Pledis Entertainment. After School originally debuted with five members on January 17, 2009 with their first dance song, “Ah”. Days before After School’s debut, Pledis Entertainment officially announced that the group’s music concept is heavily influenced by the Pussycat Dolls, and that they “will be a type of group that Korea has never seen before”. On January 15, 2009, Pledis Entertainment released a 30-second teaser music video for “Ah” to the web, which reached 10,000 views on the first day. The girls, as a group, made an unofficial first appearance on December 29, 2008 at the SBS Song Festival ‘S’, performing “Play Girlz” with Son Dambi.


 In April 2009 it was announced by Pledis entertainment ‘UEE’ (유이: Kim Yoo Jin) was to join After school as a sixth member. She was first introduced to the public as a friend of Wonder Girls member ‘Kim Yoobin’ the television program. A second single, Diva is an upbeat dance song The track was released as their first digital single promotional activities began 9 April 2009 with his comeback performance at Mnet’s M! Countdown. Later, it was announced that the After School would cooperate with the popular artist Pledis 손담비The digital single AMOLED was released July 23, 2009 as part of deals for the Samsung phone “AMOLED”

 On October 29, 2009 Yoo So Young announced her exit from. the group due to health reasons and then two new members Raina (레이나: Oh Hye Rin) and Nana (나나: Im Jin Ah) were added to make After School a seven member group. After School released their second EP November 25, 2009 entitled “너 때문에” (Because of You). They made their comeback in the 27th on KBS’s Music Bank with the title track “너 때문에’ The song proved very popular to beat # 1 on various online charts and won three Mutizen Awards; The remix version of the single was released on January 22, 2010. In March 2010, After School released their 3rd Single called “Bang!” with the addition of 8th member, Lizzy
The first sub-unit group was named Orange Caramel. On June 6, 2010, Pledis announced Nana as the first member of one of the 2 sub-units. On June 7, 2010, Pledis announced Raina as the second member of the same sub-unit. On June 8, 2010, Pledis announced Lizzy as the final member of this sub-unit. The trio released a new mini album entitled Orange Caramel. “The First Mini album” consists of 4 tracks, which are 2 songs and instrumentals of those tracks. The version released in Taiwan recorded a special song-The Day You Went Away. The song is released as Special for Taiwan that is Mandarin Version and it’s a cover from Cyndi Wang, a Taiwanese singer who’s popular. The promoted song is Magic Girl (마법소녀). The second song is Love Does Not Wait (사랑을 미룰 순 없나요) which is Raina’s solo song. Orange Caramel’s concept is cheery and retro, or Candy Culture (cute and bright, while lovely and innocent at the same time). Their music video was released on June 16, 2010.

Mini albums

Promotional singles

  • “Ah!” (2009)
  • Diva” (2009)
  • “Neo Ddaemunae” (2009)
  • “Bang!” (2010)





4 Responses to “After School”

  1. Jessica Sierra March 5, 2011 at 6:35 am #

    great tips! thanks!

  2. Sam Jones March 11, 2011 at 5:49 pm #

    how old is your blog? this is the first time I found it.

  3. Delmar Washinton April 13, 2011 at 8:02 am #

    do you have an rss feed?

  4. Bee Exterminator Upper west side Nyc June 14, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Very interesting topic, appreciate it for putting up.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: